Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
growing goldfish
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Goldfish, Koi and Ponds  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Kristy
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.11.29(Tue)15:55    Post subject: growing goldfish Reply with quote

I have been keeping aquariums for 4 years now. The problem I have is that I have never been able to put any size on my goldfish. They may live a long time, but never grow much bigger than when I buy them. My tanks are clean, pH and etc checked, and good filtration systems. I'm good at growing tropical fish, but still no luck with the goldfish. My grandmother kept a 5 gallon tank, usually dirty, and the filter half worked and she always grew huge fish!?! I'd appreciate any advice. Also, I've placed a heater in my tank keeping it about 73-74F. I know goldfish are coldwater, but then I've also read to keep the water 74+. Would this make any difference in growth? Thanks!
grapeape
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.11.29(Tue)18:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

What size tank are they in and what do you consider a "huge" goldfish? My comet is 12-14 inches and that is not rare for them
Kristy
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.11.29(Tue)21:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've kept them in a 30 and 20 gallon. For me to grow one 4 or 5 inches would be great. Just a nice, bigger sized fish. But if I buy a small one they just seem to stay pretty small. Thanks for your help.
grapeape
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.11.29(Tue)21:59    Post subject: Reply with quote