Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Molly-keeper new to the board
 Forum Index > Introduction to this Community  Reply to topic   Post new topic
DJ
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.19(Sat)22:20    Post subject: Molly-keeper new to the board Reply with quote

Hi. I'm DJ and this is my first post.

I've been raising mollies for about 23 years. We started out with a community tank....it's now evolved to the point where we now have only mollies with 4 little corys and one small pleco.

In 23 years, I've seen some interesting things:

1. I was feeding our first female black lyretail worms. I didn't have the spoon close enough, so she hurled herself out of her tank, onto the spoon, collected the worm, and fell back into her tank.

2. The same female was acting lonesome (as I thought), so we put her in the other tank with the gold male. She immediately 'came onto' him rabidly, acting as if she hadn't seen him in years. I've never seen such a thing in any female since.

3. I saw six or seven females change into males (I will comment more on this in the "gay fish" thread).

4. Our black male molly has a beautiful iridescent blue tail. Whether or not it is the result of inbreeding, I don't know.