Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
20g cold water tank
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 Forum Index > Photo Album  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.11.12(Fri)0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the kind compliments, I do like that big rock, kinda of a main point but doesn't make the tank look out of perspective.

I have no clue if getting rid of some phosphate would help. Ideas?

I am getting some java ferns, compliments of 59FIFTY, and in a month or two when I too month ricca in my 10g I will trim it and put it in my tank. I am trying to get some hygro polysperma for the tank just because I had it once and it grew so well I didn't like it, but in these tank it would act as a really nice filler.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.11.12(Fri)11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Question:

Can I add say 5 hillstream loaches? I really like the look of them, this tank hovers around 60*f-65*, has lots of current (I can add a powerhead if I wanted to) , hidey places, I can also add a bubbler if needed, and they would like the diatoms that I have in there.

There are currently only 7 WCMM in the the tank.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DaleJr
Regulars


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: 2010.11.12(Fri)15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

Caton wrote:
Question:

Can I add say 5 hillstream loaches?



No, they require a VERY VERY heavy current
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.11.12(Fri)17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaleJr wrote:
No, they require a VERY VERY heavy current


I know that, I can research too Wink

Provided that I have enough current, could I?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.12.09(Thu)11:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am seeing some breeding action going on. They are chasing each other and they go crazy in the mornings. Maybe if I add some r/o water (like just 5 gallons) that will induce them even more. I have the tank heated to 76*f right now. I still have a major algae problem, I either get hillstream loaches because this algae is just diatoms or I fix it. I want hillstream loaches no matter what, but I still need to fix this algae...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Shields
New Members


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Location: North Wales

PostPosted: 2010.12.11(Sat)8:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really like White Clouds,nice tank! re the diatoms,it may sound obvious but how much/what are you feeding your fish?do you have a day where you skip feeding?I've always found this has a big affect on brown algae,I believe food is the main source for Phosphates in a tank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.12.11(Sat)13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I feed them around every other day or every three days. Even sometimes 4 days. I figured it was phosphates, but even when I cut back on feeding its there, I have started dosing liquid ferts and I think I might add diy co2 just to get some co2 in the tank.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Shields
New Members


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Location: North Wales

PostPosted: 2010.12.11(Sat)13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't be that then.I noticed you said that the tank didn't have a light,have you got one sorted yet as brown algae doesn't really need light and will be outdoing the other plants in the race for nutrients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Caton
Regulars


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: 2010.12.11(Sat)17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the beginning I didn't have a light. I now have a shop light over it, The plants are growing slowly. I am getting rid of all the plants in it (besides the java fern I got) and I am going to get a new light with some plants that are more red/faster growers. I like fast growers because they suck up nitrates and they don't get algae and I like trimming.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Photo Album All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L