Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Aquaclear Question
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
fishy me
Regulars


Joined: 22 Nov 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.30(Sat)17:10    Post subject: Aquaclear Question Reply with quote

I bought an aquaclear filter today and was wondering if you need to use the ammonia remover when cycling the tank. The package says the insert gives more room for a bactirial colony to grow so you could have a bigger bio-load. What I'm wondering is, if you want ammonia in your tank for the cycle, would the ammonia remover remove the ammonia?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tommyr
Members


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Location: Hudson Valley of N.Y.

PostPosted: 2006.12.31(Sun)11:30    Post subject: Re: Aquaclear Question Reply with quote

fishy me wrote:
I bought an aquaclear filter today and was wondering if you need to use the ammonia remover when cycling the tank. The package says the insert gives more room for a bactirial colony to grow so you could have a bigger bio-load. What I'm wondering is, if you want ammonia in your tank for the cycle, would the ammonia remover remove the ammonia?



No you don't need the ammonia remover when cycling, you DO want some ammonia for the cycle to begin. Just use 2 sponges or one sponge and the bio beads. Great filter, you made a very good choice!

Happy new year!

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fishy me
Regulars


Joined: 22 Nov 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.31(Sun)11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. I think I will either buy another sponge or cut the one I have in have in half. By the way, are the bio-beads the new insert that they came out with or are you talking about the activated carbon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tommyr
Members


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Location: Hudson Valley of N.Y.

PostPosted: 2006.12.31(Sun)13:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

fishy me wrote:
Thanks for the reply. I think I will either buy another sponge or cut the one I have in have in half. By the way, are the bio-beads the new insert that they came out with or are you talking about the activated carbon?



No, the beads look like beads and go in a mesh screen, the carbon is black. Carbon isn't needed unless you have a smelly tank (in which case you have bigger problems!) or need to remove meds and don't last very long anyway.

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L