Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Filtration for a 6x2x2 with discus
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
FiftyCalibre
Advisors


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: 2006.12.19(Tue)20:28    Post subject: Filtration for a 6x2x2 with discus Reply with quote

I am getting a 6x2x2 tank, and I'm considering my filtration options.

I don't want to use a sump, since theres too many damn options!

Since its a discus tank, it needs quite good filtration, as discus aint cheap!

I was thinking of maybe using 2 FX5s, but their output might create too much current for the discus. Their combined output would turn over the tank at less than 6.8 times per hour. With added media, it would prob be less than 6 times per hour. I don't think ill use a single FX5, as it will barely turn the tank over 3 times per hour after more media is added.

What do people recommend?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FiftyCalibre
Advisors


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: 2006.12.21(Thu)23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have pretty much decided on a sump with a 4000 l/h pump, as well as an FX5. The sump will have mostly matrix, which means I will be a poor, poor man
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WilbyZ
Regulars


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: 2006.12.30(Sat)12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi 50Cal, I see you're from Sydney. Good stuff to see fellow Aussies on here... Smile

Its seems to be too late, but I also have a 6x2x2 tank which runs...

2 x Eheim 2217 (2 x 1000 l/h)
1 x Eheim 2260 (4000 l/h)

Probably less output l/h than factory quoted figures.

I've tried a sump/wetdry system and that was just too much trouble and loud for my bedroom. With a sump you have to get the water level just right everytime you do a water change (what a pain!).

Then, there's the thought of the Sump over filling!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FiftyCalibre
Advisors


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: 2006.12.30(Sat)19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havent bought it all yet. I'm waiting for a little while after new years, for all the stores to open up fully lol.

It won't be in my bedroom, so I'm not too worried about the noise. The noise couldnt beat my AR850 either, which I really need to clean the impeller of lol.

You need to get the water level to the same level as the weir right? I figure the little amount of hassle is better than dead fish, which is a pain in my wallet lol.

I'm not too worried about the sump overfilling, since ill be using a weir system, so it will only overfill if I put too much water in the tank.

Right now the only thing I'm worried about is my empty pocket. Less money to spend on grog!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L